You Bring Charm to the World Hong Kong Prize

Written by admin on 07/08/2024 in Gambling with no comments.

The winners of the You Bring Charm to the World awards are a diverse group, including cyberneticist Qian Xuesen, architect Ieoh Ming-pei, malariologist Tu Youyou, novelist Louis Cha Leung-yung and director Zhang Yimou. Each has made their mark in his or her field and is a source of pride for Chinese people around the globe. They have shown the Chinese nation in a good light, said award organiser and chairman Lee Ka-chun.

The prize, sponsored by Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited, aims to attract top scientific talent and encourage science and technology entrepreneurs to develop Hong Kong into an active research hub. Its evaluation process is independent and objective. It includes an assessment of scientific research achievements, their application and transformation, as well as social or economic value created. A review board, comprising an independent Review Committee and Compliance Oversight Team, will evaluate the candidates.

Other winners include explorer Rebecca Lee Lok-sze, who is the first Hong Kong woman to venture to all three poles, and mountaineer Li Zexiang, who has scaled Mount Everest six times. Animator Darren Law won the Best Film award for his work on the 2024 Hong Kong Film Awards short Ten Years, which won the top prize at local box offices but has angered Beijing with its depiction of the semi-autonomous territory. Martial arts legend Sammo Hung won the lifetime achievement prize.

Each of the 158 winners is a shining example for fellow Chinese and all people around the world, Lee said, adding that Hong Kong will continue to be an open and cosmopolitan city with global humanistic exchanges to drive synergistic regional development. He urged the winners to keep inspiring others and show Hong Kong’s unique strengths to the world.

The winners will be awarded with a cash prize of HK$2 million each at the ceremony next month. They will also receive an engraved medallion and a certificate.

Established in 2012, the Prize is open to all enrolled secondary students of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. They can apply by submitting an art piece or artwork portfolio to us online by 16 September, with their nominating teachers’ support. A shortlist of 20 students will be selected by our panel of judges, who will select the Judges Prize winner and the school of the Public Vote Prize winner.

This year’s award ceremony was held at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre on Saturday. Chief Secretary Eric Chan Kwok-ki and Dr Gabriel Leung, executive director, charities and community of the Hong Kong Jockey Club, attended.

The Hong Kong Prize is a prestigious award that honours excellence in research carried out by Young Fellows of the Academy. Research can be in any discipline within the Academy and must have been published on or after 1 January 2021. The winner will be given recognition, support and encouragement in his or her creative work, arts projects or further studies. In addition, he or she will be provided with an international platform for enhanced exposure and potential for future collaborations.

Comments are closed.