The Sydney Prizes

Written by admin on 05/23/2023 in Gambling with no comments.

A Sydney prize is an award that recognises people or organisations that have made a significant contribution to Australian culture, society or economy. It is presented on a national basis and has been awarded to groups including the Black Lives Matter movement, an international organisation devoted to human rights and non-violence; the Sydney Opera House, an iconic cultural landmark; and the University of Sydney’s art history department. The foundation also awards the monthly SS Sidney journalism prize for investigative reporting in service of the common good.

The Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize is an annual competition for short stories ranging between 1500 and 3000 words themed loosely around the notion of ‘travel’. The first prize receives $5000 and publication at Overland, while two runner-up stories will be published online alongside the autumn 2023 edition of the magazine. The competition is open to writers living in Australia and internationally, at any stage of their career.

Sid Black Memorial Engineering Prize

This annual prize, established in honour of the late Professor Sid Black, encourages female engineering students to follow their passion and pursue a career in engineering. It is open to female graduating engineering students who have achieved high marks and can demonstrate personal attributes and/or a contribution to the community or student life.

NSW Educator of the Year

This award is given to an educator who has shown extraordinary commitment and dedication to the teaching profession over their career. The recipient of the prize will have demonstrated a commitment to the values and principles of the NSW Education system, as well as having an excellent record of leadership in the classroom.

MAK Halliday Postgraduate Research Prize

The MAK Halliday Postgraduate Research Prize is awarded annually in recognition of the most outstanding conference presentation or publication by a postgraduate research student within the Department of Linguistics at the University of Sydney. The prize is named in honour of the founding professor of the department.

SS Sidney Prize

The SS Sidney Prize is an annual award given by New York Times columnist David Brooks to long-form essays on politics and culture that capture the year’s best in American scholarship and commentary. The most recent winner was Brooks and William Zinsser’s piece on student hypersensitivity, in which students seek safety in case they encounter microaggressions.

SS Sidney Hillman Prize

The Sidney Hillman Prize is an annual journalism award that honours work in service of the common good. The foundation accepts nominations on the last day of each month for articles that appeared in the previous month, excluding obituaries and op-eds. The winner will be announced on the second Wednesday of each month.

The SS Sidney Hillman Prize is named after former Charles R Dana Research Institute for Scientists Emeriti Director Sidney Udenfriend. Among other things, he believed that science should serve the public and improve human lives, and was a steadfast advocate for academic freedom. He would be proud of the way the award honors his memory.

Comments are closed.